Sahara Ali, Undergraduate Researcher

Psychobiology major, class of 2022

Regents Scholar, CARES Scholar, CARES Fellow




Shomik Ati, IBP MS student

BS, Psychology, University of Texas Austin, Integrative Biology and Physiology Non-Resident Tuition Fellowship (2020-2021)




Stephanie Correa, PhD, Assistant Professor

BA, Biology, Pomona College; PhD, Neurobiology & Behavior, Cornell University; Postdoc w/ Holly Ingraham, UCSF, stephaniecorrea [at] ucla [dot] edu




Elizabeth Dilday, M.D., Research Fellow

MD, Keck School of Medicine, USC; Internship & Residency: University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center





Megan Massa, PhD candidate, Neuroscience; BA, Neuroscience, Minor in English, Bowdoin College

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship, 2021 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award, UCLA Dissertation Year Fellowship, SBN New Investigator Award, CTSI Core Voucher Award, Sex Differences in Metabolic Syndrome SCORE Pilot & Feasibility Grant




Amanda Misquez, IBP MS Student

BS, Physiological Science, UCLA, Undergraduate Researcher in Correa Lab, 2020-2021.




Jae Park, M. S., Lab Manager

IBP MS student (2017- 2019), Dean’s Tuition Fellowships (2017 & 2018)

MS, Integrative Biology and Physiology, UCLA; BS, Biomedical Science, Minor in Nutrition, University at Buffalo



Norma Sandoval, MCIP PhD student

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship, Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship, Graduate Council Diversity Fellowship, Graduate Division Dean’s Scholar Award

BS, Physiological Science, UCLA




Rachel Scott, MCIP PhD student

Cota Robles Fellowship, NIH-NIA Research Supplement to Promote Diversity in Health-Related Research

BS, Physiological Science & BA Ethomusicology, UCLA





Paul Vander, MCIP PhD student

BS, Biology, University of Michigan





Ed van Veen, Ph.D., Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Biology and Physiology

Iris Cantor Women’s Health Center Pilot Project Grant

PhD, Molecular Biology, MIT; BS, Applied Math; BS, Genetics, UC Davis; vanveen [at] ucla [dot] edu



Coming soon:

Alexandra Cara, Ph.D., PhD in Molecular & Integrative Physiology with Dr. Carol Elias at University of Michigan.

Laura Cortés, PhD in Neuroscience with Dr. Nancy Forger at Georgia State University.

Former Postdoc and Graduate Students

Zhi Zhang, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow (2017-2021), AHA Postdoctoral Fellowship, Iris Cantor Women’s Health Center Young Investigator Award, now Young Associate Investigator, School of Life Sciences, Fudan University, Shanghai.

Laura Kammel, Ph.D., MCIP PhD student (2017-2019), Postdoctoral Scholar (2019), NRSA Predoctoral Fellowship, Dissertation Year Fellowship, Hyde Fellowship, Brain Research Institute Research Grant. Now Postdoctoral Fellow in the Single Cell Dynamics Group (PI Joseph Rodriguez, PhD) at NIEHS.

John DiVittorio, IBP MS student (2018-2020), 2020 Distinguished TA award, now Technical Applications Specialist at Chai bio.

Jae Park, M.S., IBP MS student (2017- 2019), Dean’s Tuition Fellowships (2017, 2018), now Staff Research Associate in Correa Lab.

Former Undergraduates

Alexia Joseph, Molecular, Cell, & Developmental Biology major, class of 2021, MCDB Highest Departmental Honors, MCDB Senior Research Award, Undergraduate Research Scholars Program, 2021 Chancellor’s Service Award

Nilla Sivakumar, Neuroscience major, class of 2020, Summer 2019 Scheibel Neuroscience Scholar, 2020 Science Dean’s Prize winner, Regents Scholar. Now research technician at UCSF.

Bethlehem Tesfaye, Physiological Science major, class of 2019, Post-graduate Researcher (2019-2020), 2019 IBP poster award. Now medical student at UC Irvine.

Nathan Sanchez, Neuroscience major, class of 2020. Now medical student at UCSF.

Kathleen Leon, summer 2019, SPUR-LABS program. Now PhD student at UC Irvine.

Alexa-Rae Wheeler, summer 2019, Neuroscience Scholars Program. Now PhD student at UT Austin.

Jose Mendez Avila, Psychobiology major, class of 2020, Dean’s Award for Life Science Research 2018-2019.

Carolina de la Cruz, Biology Major, class of 2019, CAMP Scholar.

Noah Kauss, Psychology major, class of 2019.

Chiara Rebagliati, Physiological Science major, class of 2019.

Trpti Sanghvi, Neuroscience major, class of 2019.

Patricia Bunda, MCDB major (Highest Departmental Honors), class of 2018, 2018 Bruin Day Ambassador, 2018 Dean’s Prize Winner, now MSTP student at Yale.

Audrey Magsig, Computational and Systems Biology major, class of 2020, now PhD student at UCSF.

Patrick Chin, Physiological Science major, 2016-2018, now MD student at DGSOM.

Selena Gonzalez, Neuroscience major, 2016-2017, CARES Scholar, 2017 Dean’s Prize Winner, now research technician at Stanford.

Former Staff

Mai Tran, Laboratory Assistant (2016), now PhD student at Scripps Institute

Michelle Reid, Laboratory Assistant (2016-2017), now PhD student at UC Berkeley

Former Rotation Students

Ricardo Frausto, MCIP PhD student, Winter 2021 rotation

Caitlin Goodpaster, Neuroscience PhD student, Fall 2020 rotation

Frank Wang, MCIP PhD student, Spring 2020 rotation

Alex Bedard, MCIP PhD student, Fall 2019 rotation

Huei Bin Wang, MCIP PhD student, Winter 2018 rotation

Joe Munier, MCIP PhD student Winter 2017 rotation

Yesenia Cabrera, Neuroscience PhD student, Fall 2016 rotation